Search for a destination guide

Guide Country

United Kingdom

Tourist guide United Kingdom

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Island, consists of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

The UK is an extremely diverse and progressive nation with a strong culture of social integration and tolerance. This is no where as prominent as in London, where its cultural events, museums, parks, galleries, pubs and restaurants are difficult to match in any other capital.

Liverpool was the European capital of culture for the year 2008, whilst neighbouring Manchester has continued to innovate and modernise its industrial past to turn itself into an ideal convention destination. Glasgow has recently won the bid to host the 2014 Commonwealth Games, having resulted in heavy investment in the infrastructure and facilities.

Other major cities such as Birmingham, Newcastle, Edinburgh and Cardiff easily compete in terms of offering modern venues and services upon which a successful event or congress is dependent. From country houses to castles, villages and countryside, thatched cottages and traditional pubs, whisky and haggis in the Highlands, the diversity of Britain, along with its facilities and accessibility, help guarantee that your events are a success.

Some useful information

Airport number : 5

Number of railway stations : 3

Timezone : GMT (GMT +1 from last Sunday in March to the last Sunday in October).

Telephone prefix : +44

Weight & measures : Imperial units

Electricity : 240 volts, 3 rectangular blade plug.

Identity card

Capital : London

Main cities : London, Glasgow, Manchester, Edinburgh

Official language : English

Currency :
The pound sterling (GBP)

Public Holidays :
New Year's Day: 01 January 2011 / 01 January 2012
Good Friday: 22 April 2011 / 06 April 2012
Easter Monday (except Scotland)  : 25 April 2011 / 09 April 2012
Royal Wedding : 29 April 2011
Early May Bank Holiday: 02 May 2011/ 07 May 2012
Spring Bank Holiday: 30 May 2011 / 04 June 2012
Queen's Diamond Jubilee: 05 June 2012
Summer Bank Holiday (except Scotland) : 29 August 2011 / 27 August 2012
Christmas Day: 25 December 2011 / 25 December 2012
Boxing Day: 26 December 2011/ 26 December 2012